Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd March 2006, 09:20 AM
twadhwa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
how to configure volume control button on laptop

hey guyz i m using fc4 on my compaq V2148 notebook, the sound is working gr8 but it wud be gr8 if i cud use the volume control buttons on my laptop which i m not able to use at the moment . any solns ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd March 2006, 11:37 AM
Deore Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Munich
Age: 29
Posts: 128
With KMix you can configure General Shortcuts - there are controls for volume up, down and mute. They expect key (combination) as shortcuts, but on many laptops the volume keys are already mapped as some combination. So try to use them there - just press the corresponding key in the KMix shortcuts config. If the buttons are not mapped you should do that yourself first - check with google what is the app name to help you with that (I can't remember it now, but I used it with FC3).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd March 2006, 03:05 PM
twadhwa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
i guess u are mentioning abt the lineak project but i am not able to use it properly , can any1 help???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd March 2006, 04:36 PM
ekimd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 21
In FC4, you should be able to go to
System -> Preferences -> Keyboard Shortcuts
and then specify a button for the volume up, down, and mute, I have a Compaq nw8240 and it works great on mine. The mute LED even lights up when I press the mute button.

If your laptop has volume up/down buttons but doesn't recognize the keys when you try to assign them, then you need to make them visible to the system with the "showkey -s" and "setkeycodes" commands. That's what I have to do on my system. I made a startup script in /etc/init.d to automatically perform all the setkeycodes commands for my system on boot. The following pages may be useful:
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Keyboard-a...-HOWTO-14.html
http://lackof.org/matt/hacking/keyboard/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd March 2006, 09:37 AM
Deore Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Munich
Age: 29
Posts: 128
Thanks ekimd, that's exactly what I meant but couldn't remember! I will actualy have to do the same thing now again...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th March 2006, 02:25 AM
ekimd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 21
Keyboard scan codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by twadhwa
actually u mentioned abt the showkey and setkeycodes commands , thanksa a lot for that , but i m really confused as to how to use them . plz elaborate a bit if possible , also how to create the initialization script . one more question , when i press my keyboard's volume keys i get scan codes and keycodes by showkey command but xev also givesthe same , but the output is diff from both commands , how is this possible???
The problem is that X can return different scan codes than the tty console. It's pretty confusing to try to explain the reason why. You'll probably have to try both to see which one works for you. You could try googling around to see if anyone with your keyboard lists the proper scan codes.

As for an initialization script, here's the one I use. Save it in the /etc/init.d directory, and call it something like inetkeys.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
/usr/bin/setkeycodes e023 200
/usr/bin/setkeycodes e01f 201
/usr/bin/setkeycodes e01a 202
/usr/bin/setkeycodes e01e 203

echo "keycode 200 = F21" >  /tmp/myKey
echo "keycode 201 = F22" >> /tmp/myKey
echo "keycode 202 = F23" >> /tmp/myKey
echo "keycode 203 = F24" >> /tmp/myKey

loadkeys /tmp/myKey 2> /dev/null
Then just make a link to it in rc5.d:
ln -s /etc/init.d/inetkeys /etc/rc5.d/S11inetkeys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd April 2006, 12:06 PM
Fezzik Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Age: 37
Posts: 12
Thanks

Thank you. I have never looked at that thing and I was able to set up a few things that helped me out a lot. I really appreciate it. The Keyboard Shortcuts thing worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd April 2006, 06:35 PM
knocker Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
in my case,

i have a small scrolling-wheel for volume up/down. but with the "showkey"-command it is not detected.

the "FN"-button is also not detected, so what can i do then?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd April 2006, 07:13 PM
Fezzik Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Age: 37
Posts: 12
Don't know if it helps

I used the graphic key setting thing. I had those buttons on the side of my computer that controlled all the volume stuff. It recognized those as some kind of command or combination. What it does is basically starts up waiting for you to press the key combination you want to use. I would think when it starts waiting for volume up you can scroll the thing up and it should send the key combination that is assigned to it. Then that is just a guess. I am not sure it may use the same command I don't know but it recognized my wierd buttons and gave them somekind of designation when I pushed them to set them up as volume up and down and mute. I even set up others to control dvd's and eject. I liked it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
button, configure, control, laptop, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost volume control, internet and battery indicator from control panel on F11 gslams Using Fedora 1 15th July 2009 12:24 AM
Volume/mute buttons on zd8115 work but dont control the volume IronFox Hardware & Laptops 0 3rd December 2008 04:20 AM
Configure shortcut volume control fedora 8 ? mdyehiya Hardware & Laptops 2 11th August 2008 08:45 AM
confusion about alsa-, arts-, xmms- or laptop-volume-control phen Hardware & Laptops 3 20th April 2005 12:40 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:05 (Sunday, 21-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...UNLV Campus Instagram Photos - Bolu Dagi Zirvesi Photos on Instagram - Artist's Point Travel Photos on Instagram - Medeo Travel Photos on Instagram