Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 25/26 > Security and Privacy
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Security and Privacy Sadly, malware, spyware, hackers and privacy threats abound in today's world. Let's be paranoid and secure our penguins, and slam the doors on privacy exploits.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd September 2007, 04:14 PM
ladybluballs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 44
cant load some websites with firefox

hi I don't how I need to ask this but my mozila firefox browser wont let me access some sites but once and then next time all I get is site unvailabe,the ones that I get this error with are local newpapers site I have the same browsers with windows xp and they are still working ok I have looked for something I could turn on or off but with no luck thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd September 2007, 04:30 PM
Henning1966 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Age: 51
Posts: 11
can you post the url?
then others may try it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd September 2007, 09:05 PM
ladybluballs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henning1966
can you post the url?
then others may try it.
I don't think thats the problem but here is the url [http://www.thesuntimes.com/] thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th September 2007, 01:09 AM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
Heber local paper (internet) works for me...only 24 miles away too.
Might try getting rid of history--i.e. clear the cache--cookies--etc..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th September 2007, 02:55 AM
Dan's Avatar
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 24,099
Hmmm.

That's a stock-standard Town News web template. It shouldn't present any problems at all to Firefox. However, if someone in the paper's graphics department forgets to correctly save the jpgs out of (MAC) Photoshop, they may get a bit weird, or perhaps won't show in any Linux browser using the gecko rendering engine. But there should be no problems viewing the overall site.


Dan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th September 2007, 02:59 AM
ladybluballs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by w5set
Heber local paper (internet) works for me...only 24 miles away too.
Might try getting rid of history--i.e. clear the cache--cookies--etc..
thanks for reply but that was not the problem
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th September 2007, 03:04 AM
ladybluballs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by TangledWeb
Hmmm.

That's a stock-standard Town News web template. It shouldn't present any problems at all to Firefox. However, if someone in the paper's graphics department forgets to correctly save the jpgs out of (MAC) Photoshop, they may get a bit weird, or perhaps won't show in any Linux browser using the gecko rendering engine. But there should be no problems viewing the overall site.


Dan
thanks for reply,could this be some kind of firewall problem I have the same browser running on win xp and it works ok but I really want to quit windows. heres the error I get with firefox with fedora os Unable to connect













Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.thesuntimes.com.








* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th September 2007, 05:59 PM
ladybluballs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladybluballs
thanks for reply,could this be some kind of firewall problem I have the same browser running on win xp and it works ok but I really want to quit windows. heres the error I get with firefox with fedora os Unable to connect













Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.thesuntimes.com.








* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
hi could someone please review my problem and guild me in getting this website to open,this is the only I cant access I always get the above error IT loaded fine the first time but never again,same browser and same website works fine with win xp thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th September 2007, 06:10 PM
Seve's Avatar
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 59
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
What is the output of
nslookup www.thesuntimes.com

If you can resolve the name okay, then have a look here and see if it helps.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_load..._some_websites

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th September 2007, 07:09 PM
jin01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 56
Hi,

I do not know if this will help, but I tried your first link and got the following:
http://www.thesuntimes.com/%5D/ with a 404 error message.

Then started the Epiphany Web Browser and typed it in www.thesuntimes.com and it loaded okay. Then I tried the other links on the thread and they loaded okay in Mozilla. The first one does not. Seems strange. When the first one comes up and I removed the %5/ I was able to access the site. Are you retyping or going to previously linked pages that were imported in?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24th September 2007, 08:25 PM
ladybluballs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jin01
Hi,

I do not know if this will help, but I tried your first link and got the following:
http://www.thesuntimes.com/%5D/ with a 404 error message.

Then started the Epiphany Web Browser and typed it in www.thesuntimes.com and it loaded okay. Then I tried the other links on the thread and they loaded okay in Mozilla. The first one does not. Seems strange. When the first one comes up and I removed the %5/ I was able to access the site. Are you retyping or going to previously linked pages that were imported in?
hi I am trying to access it both by type in and from bookmark the funny thing it worked the first time but never again I removed the bookmark and tried from google search still wont load
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24th September 2007, 08:27 PM
ladybluballs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladybluballs
hi I am trying to access it both by type in and from bookmark the funny thing it worked the first time but never again I removed the bookmark and tried from google search still wont load
I am trying it both ways it wont load
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th September 2007, 09:05 PM
jin01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 56
Have you tried another browser like Epiphany Web Browser to see if it makes a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th September 2007, 09:11 PM
jin01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 56
Did you try Seve's last post?
# nslookup www.thesuntimes.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th September 2007, 09:46 PM
Dan's Avatar
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 24,099
Ladybluballs,

Please click the following link, and see if it will load for you.

http://www.agjournalonline.com/

This one too.

http://www.lajuntatribunedemocrat.com/


Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
firefox , load , websites

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox exiting abruptly on some websites notageek Linux Chat 13 26th March 2009 07:04 PM
Network: websites load slowly piet85 Servers & Networking 3 13th November 2008 06:40 PM
What next??? Websites won't load... [SOLVED] cbw34 Servers & Networking 5 26th January 2008 10:28 PM
Firefox-sound on websites deminished Using Fedora 8 23rd February 2005 09:15 PM
How to get websites to allow Firefox instead of IE zipper Using Fedora 7 11th October 2004 11:05 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:04 (Wednesday, 18-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat