Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd July 2017, 10:57 PM
Linuxdude Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 38
linuxfedorachrome
Got my first server need help.

I got a used dell power server R710 2.5 version. I also own a dell 42u server rack. It came with server racks. They fit on it. The issue is, I don't have everything to mount it. I posted pics because, I really don't know were to even look or what they are called. Thanks

Images http://imgur.com/a/Do8mM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd July 2017, 11:24 PM
dd_wizard's Avatar
dd_wizard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,113
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Got my first server need help.

Google "server rack mounting hardware" and you'll find more vendors than you need. Also, check out supermicro.com for hardware that goes in the racks.

dd_wizard
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd July 2017, 11:27 PM
Linuxdude Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 38
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Got my first server need help.

Alright I'll check that out thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th July 2017, 01:42 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,130
linuxchrome
Re: Got my first server need help.

You own a server rack and a server, correct? The easy thing to do is buy Gruber rails, then you can slide the server on top of it.
More commonly you get a set a rails, part of which goes onto the server, and part of which goes into the rack. You then slide the server into the rack.

I dislike videos, but am too lazy to look further. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8gTTFiOh84

Google something like dell rails for R710 and that should get you things. Or if you have a friend who works in a data center ask them. You also want to think about power and ventilation, but if you're just going to have one or two servers in a rack, that's probably not too important.

A link to Gruber rails so you can get an idea. They screw into the mounting rack and have lips that hold the server.

If it's Dell then I'd stick to Dell rails, I think they attach to the servers without screws.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th July 2017, 08:07 PM
Linuxdude Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 38
linuxchrome
Re: Got my first server need help.

I am watching the video now. Thanks for posting this. One more thing though, how is fedora server? I am using this machine for virtualisation and testing programs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th July 2017, 10:17 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,130
linuxchrome
Re: Got my first server need help.

Ah, forgot the link to gruber rails. http://www.gruber.com/rack-rails-4-post-adjustable-1u

While Fedora can be used as a server, it has a relatively short life span, most people wanting a RedHat based server use CentOS.

These days, it's probably stable enough while the version you run is supported, but it's generally considered a development platform for RedHat. Therefore, things are often put in before they're really ready for prime time so that Fedora user community can test and troubleshoot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th July 2017, 07:03 AM
Linuxdude Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 38
linuxchrome
Re: Got my first server need help.

Alright thanks I'll get cent os or redhat then.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th July 2017, 12:48 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,130
linuxfirefox
Re: Got my first server need help.

I think it's a better choice. While many can and do use Fedora as a server, CentOS puts more emphasis on staying stable and not breaking things with updates.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th July 2017, 05:28 PM
William Haller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Age: 57
Posts: 1,181
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Got my first server need help.

You also might want to look at the CentOS virtualization special interest group. You can download their repo add-on and access later versions of the qemu software than what is currently running on the core CentOS 7 system which provides some nice features for snapshots and migration of VMs. If you've picked up one R710, you may as well pick up a second and have some redundancy for upgrades and hardware failures.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VNC viewer showing black screen. unable to connect VNC server remotely on the server? cyberdome Using Fedora 2 22nd July 2014 04:28 PM
How do I send server files I built locally, to my remotely hosted server? settingsun Servers & Networking 6 12th April 2012 03:11 AM
The Perfect Server, aka ISPConfig based web mail dns and ... production level server LaKing Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) 1 22nd September 2010 03:12 PM
Setting up Fedora Directoy Server as LDAP Address book server: how? mdragt Servers & Networking 0 17th September 2008 12:20 PM
ushare (upnp media server) 500 internal server error stephanie.steve Using Fedora 2 13th June 2008 02:16 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:58 (Sunday, 22-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat