FC9 and FC11 Questions
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

FC9 and FC11 Questions

Hi all,

I am a relative noob when it comes to FC but have been running FC9 for a while as a test lab machine at work and have another desktop that is on FC11 and have some questions I hope someone can answer for me.

FC9 - I havent seen any updates via Yum in about 2-3 weeks and am concerned, are there no updates or is something wrong? I've done yum clean all, yum clearcache/makecache and nada. My current repos are updates-fc9-i386-Updates, adobe-linux-i386, fedora.

FC11 - using FC9 I am familiar with the System Tools (Applications>System Tools>System Log) to view the secure log, maillog, etc, but cannot for the life of me find the comparable menu/command to see this same info in FC11.

thanks and sorry for the lame questions.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    F9 went end-of-life on or about 7-10-2009 (IIRC). There will be no further new updates from Fedora Project (although some few 3rd-party repos may offer some limited new updates for a while).

V

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Awesome! thanks for the quick response!

Do you know where I can find the syslog in FC11 the same way I view it in FC9?

"FC11 - using FC9 I am familiar with the System Tools (Applications>System Tools>System Log) to view the secure log, maillog, etc, but cannot for the life of me find the comparable menu/command to see this same info in FC11."

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure - I have F11-LXDE, which appears not to have gnome-system-log (part of package gnome-utils).

Try from command line:
    gnome-system-log

V

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)