Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th April 2011, 08:06 AM
dotmil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Abilene, TX, USA
Posts: 5
windows_7firefox
F15 bcm4313

Has anyone gotten this wireless chipset to work yet in F15? If so, mind lending a tip or 2?

Thanks!
  #2  
Old 10th April 2011, 12:35 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,548
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

I don't use Fedora 15 yet, but the BCM4313 is known to work with the Broadcom 802.11 STA Linux driver (aka broadcom-wl). Try installing the RPM Fusion repos and then install kmod-wl. RPM Fusion also has an akmod-wl version if you prefer to try that. Or you can compile the source version available from Broadcom.

The BCM4313 also is known to work with the new open source brcm80211 Linux driver from Broadcom. But I have no idea if Fedora 15 will come with that. I don't even know if it's available for Fedora 14. Debian Squeeze has it in its repos.
  #3  
Old 18th April 2011, 12:39 AM
brasiu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

Hello! I've just installed F15 and I got some problems with my Broadcom device.

$ lspci -vnn
12:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4727] (rev 01)

$ uname -r
2.6.38.2-9.fc15.x86_64

I've tried those drivers: broadcom-wl-4.150.10.5, broadcom-wl-4.178.10.4 and the proprietary driver from Broadcom 802.11 STA hybrid_wl. Without success... I can modprobe the b43 module, but nothing happens :-(

The installation of the two first goes normal, but don't enable the interface.
$ modinfo b43 | grep dep
depends: ssb,mac80211,mmc_core,cfg80211

I couldn''t really compile the Broadcom's driver. I got this error message:
Quote:
/opt/hybrid_wl/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c:485:3: error: implicit declaration of function ‘init_MUTEX’ [-Werror=implicit-function-declaration]
cc1: some warnings being treated as errors

make[2]: *** [/opt/hybrid_wl/src/wl/sys/wl_linux.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/opt/hybrid_wl] Error 2
I've also tried the kmod-wl (broadcom-wl) by yum (with rpm-fusion installed), but it seems like there is some dependencies not solved for my kernel release. Here it is:
Quote:
Error: Package: kmod-wl-2.6.35.4-28.fc14.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.x86_64 (rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide)
Requires: kernel-uname-r = 2.6.35.4-28.fc14.x86_64
Installed: kernel-2.6.38-0.rc5.git1.1.fc15.x86_64 (@koji-override-0/$releasever)
kernel-uname-r = 2.6.38-0.rc5.git1.1.fc15.x86_64
Installed: kernel-2.6.38.2-9.fc15.x86_64 (@fedora)
kernel-uname-r = 2.6.38.2-9.fc15.x86_64
Available: kernel-debug-2.6.38.2-9.fc15.x86_64 (fedora)
kernel-uname-r = 2.6.38.2-9.fc15.x86_64.debug


(sorry about my english, guys :-P)
  #4  
Old 18th April 2011, 02:45 AM
robgarth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
linuxchrome
Re: F15 bcm4313

I managed to get it working on a Dell2110 using the akmod package.

See this guide: http://fedoramobile.org/fc-wireless/...nux-sta-driver

I had no issues so I am not sure I will be much help.
  #5  
Old 18th April 2011, 04:39 AM
brasiu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

The akmod package worked for me (dell n5010). The NetworkManager still have some bugs when adding new network or connecting, but the device is working! Thanks ;-)
  #6  
Old 19th April 2011, 12:18 AM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,327
linuxfirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

The open source driver for this is in staging, so it's not going to be enabled in the F15 kernel. Fedora kernels usually don't include staging drivers; they're only included if someone within Fedora is actively involved in developing the driver up to upstream standards. So until the driver gets out of staging, the akmod for wl in Fusion is the best way to go for this chipset.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #7  
Old 19th April 2011, 12:22 AM
robgarth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
linuxchrome
Re: F15 bcm4313

Thanks Adam I had forgotten that the akmod packages were in fusion. You first need to enable the repos at http://rpmfusion.org
  #8  
Old 9th May 2011, 12:15 PM
sansintierra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
windows_7opera
Re: F15 bcm4313

I have the RPM Fusion repo enabled, tried the kmod-wl (which doesn't work because it's apparently for the f14 kernel version) and akmod-wl (which installs seamlessly) and still can't manage to make the bcm4313 to work.

When I try to modprobe I get:
Quote:
FATAL: Module wl not found
Is here any other way to solve this? Am I missing something?
  #9  
Old 9th May 2011, 12:31 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,548
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansintierra

...and akmod-wl (which installs seamlessly) and...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sansintierra
Code:
FATAL: Module wl not found
After installing an akmod, you have to reboot or rebuild the kmods for it to work. Did you do that yet?
  #10  
Old 9th May 2011, 12:44 PM
sansintierra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
windows_7opera
Re: F15 bcm4313

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoat View Post
After installing an akmod, you have to reboot or rebuild the kmods for it to work. Did you do that yet?
Reboot, yes, and get the same error. Don't know exactly how to rebuild the kmods.
  #11  
Old 9th May 2011, 12:57 PM
aesir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ~
Age: 31
Posts: 175
linuxfirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansintierra View Post
Reboot, yes, and get the same error. Don't know exactly how to rebuild the kmods.
You don't need to reboot: run
Code:
service akmods restart
as root and see if it builds correctly

BTW I have the same device and the staging brcm80211 driver work well enough for me on F14
  #12  
Old 9th May 2011, 11:37 PM
dotmil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Abilene, TX, USA
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

FWIW, I finally got mine working by using the akmod-wl package from rpmfusion. The tarball from broadcom failed to build against either the stock F15 kernel, or the latest rc from kernel.org. If yours isn't working, are you sure you have enabled both the free and on-free from rpmfusion and blacklisted the b43 or b43-legacy drivers?
  #13  
Old 9th May 2011, 11:51 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,327
linuxfirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

make sure you're using the 'rawhide' repo at Fusion, too, not the f14 one.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #14  
Old 10th May 2011, 12:43 PM
sansintierra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
windows_7opera
Re: F15 bcm4313

Thanks for the suggesions.
I ran 'service akmods restart' as root and got this:

Quote:
Checking kmods exist for 2.6.38.2-9.fc15.i686.PAE [OK]
Files needed for building modules against kernel 2.6.38.2-9.fc15.i686.PAE could not be found as the following directories are missing:
/usr/src/kernels/2.6.38.2-9.fc15.i686.PAE/
/lib/modules/2.6.38.2-9.fc15.i686.PAE/build/ [FAILED]
Also, when I run 'lspci -vn' the 'Kernel driver in use' and 'Kernel modules' lines are missing from the broadcom network controller, while they appear in the ethernet controller.

EDIT: I think I found he reason for the error: using nautilus I got in the /usr/src/kernels directory and found out there is no PAE kernel, just a "2.6.38.2-9.fc15.i686" folder. Does akmod build only for PAE kernels?

Last edited by sansintierra; 10th May 2011 at 12:47 PM.
  #15  
Old 10th May 2011, 01:05 PM
aesir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ~
Age: 31
Posts: 175
linuxfirefox
Re: F15 bcm4313

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansintierra View Post
Thanks for the suggesions.
I ran 'service akmods restart' as root and got this:



Also, when I run 'lspci -vn' the 'Kernel driver in use' and 'Kernel modules' lines are missing from the broadcom network controller, while they appear in the ethernet controller.

EDIT: I think I found he reason for the error: using nautilus I got in the /usr/src/kernels directory and found out there is no PAE kernel, just a "2.6.38.2-9.fc15.i686" folder. Does akmod build only for PAE kernels?
I have never used a PAE kernel, but I think that you are running a PAE kernel but you have installed the standard kernel-devel package, you need kernel-PAE-devel
Code:
yum install kernel-PAE-devel
 

Tags
bcm4313, f15

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Need help with BCM4313 Wifi driver install Falven Using Fedora 24 29th June 2013 05:44 PM
Broadcom BCM4313 Problem Fedora 14 braunerf18 Servers & Networking 7 22nd November 2011 07:53 PM
BCM4313 installation help sputnik2012 Hardware & Laptops 5 27th May 2011 06:10 AM
Fedora 14, BCM4313 wireless problem AnneW Servers & Networking 10 17th May 2011 03:33 AM
bcm4313 to monitor mode? cloud2020 Using Fedora 19 13th September 2010 08:32 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:24 (Thursday, 21-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat