<---- template headericclude ----->
Gnome 3.0 displays menu on secondary monitor.
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Gnome 3.0 displays menu on secondary monitor.

    I am able to get gnome 3.0 working with kmod-nvidia. 280.13 and the latest kernel.

    To this i had to delete the screen information until only the bare bones of the configuration file were left. From there i can create a single screen configuration using nvidia-settings and am able to use gnome 3.0 with a single monitor (.conf is at bottom of post)

    Without doing this gnome 3.0 starts in failsafe mode.

    From there i use nvidia-settings to create the seperate X screen, set resolution information and "right of" positioning to the "absolute" positioning of my main screen. I have tried this process with monitors on either port so with main screen as dfp-0 and as dfp-1

    However the main screen output is sent to the secondary screen, despite the configuration file seemingly telling it to output correctly. Further to this the main screen resolution is set correctly as is specified in the .conf file.

    This has bewildered me as it appears to be a bug. When in gnome 3.0 failsafe seperate X screen behaves as expected using an xorg.conf with identical serverlayout specifications.

    The below configuration uses seperate X screen and Xinerama correctly but only loads in Gnome 3.0 Failsafe mode.
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    
    # Removed Option "Xinerama" "0"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
    	ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
    	ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/nvidia"
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "keyboard"
        Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
        Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
        # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
        VertRefresh     56.0 - 60.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor1"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "LG Electronics LGTV"
        HorizSync       31.0 - 84.0
        VertRefresh     57.0 - 75.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 285"
        BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
        Screen          0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device1"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 285"
        BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
        Screen          1
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "1920x1200_60 +0+0"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200_60 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen1"
        Device         "Device1"
        Monitor        "Monitor1"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-1: 1360x768_60 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection


    The below configuration causes the main screen / gnome 3.0 menu to appear on the secondary screen (and no background on the main)


    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    
    # Removed Option "Xinerama" "0"
        Identifier     "Layout0"                                               
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
        ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
        ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
        ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/nvidia"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
        Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
        Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
        VertRefresh     56.0 - 60.0
    #    Option         "DPMS"                                         # This was originally not set, in an effort to match the working .conf file it was set and had no effect.
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor1"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "LG Electronics LGTV"
        HorizSync       31.0 - 84.0
        VertRefresh     57.0 - 75.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 285"
        BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
        Screen          0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device1"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 285"
        BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
        Screen          1
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Default Screen"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "1920x1200_60 +0+0"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200_60 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen1"
        Device         "Device1"
        Monitor        "Monitor1"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-1: 1360x768_60 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    The question i am left with is why when no difference is made in the server layout specification is the screen layout being changed by gnome 3.0 running in non failsafe?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    The following is the conf required for Gnome 3.0 to run correctly, using only the single monitor.


    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "keyboard"
        Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
        Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
        VertRefresh     56.0 - 60.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 285"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "1920x1200_60 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Last edited by Hyperthinker; 21st October 2011 at 07:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Gnome 3.0 displays menu on secondary monitor.

    Going by the amount of views to replies ratio I'm guessing that you are all as stumped by this as me.

    When seemingly the only differing factor between the configurations is the settings that allow gnome 3.0 to start it should certainly not be swapping the menu to the other monitor, It has to be a gnome 3.0 bug.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Gnome 3.0 displays menu on secondary monitor.

    Should i have posted in badly written english " PLEASE HELP ME FIX SCREEN STUFF." without providing any relevant information?

    Most of those threads get answers! lol.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Waldorf, Maryland
    Posts
    7,343
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Gnome 3.0 displays menu on secondary monitor.

    They are also simpler failures.

    Your problem is one that doesn't occur very often. And no, I don't have the answer either - I find gnome3 to be so bad it is unusable.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Gnome 3.0 displays menu on secondary monitor.

    Hi Jpollard, Thanks for the reply.

    I'm starting to think its a Gnome 3.0 bug.. however i really do like the interface, especially with rhythm box and empathy popups.

    I guess ill hopefully wait for Gnome 3.0 updates, Becaus failsafe mode is like Gnome 2.0 without any of the good parts lol...

    I think ill submit a bug report too.

    I've been thinking about this some more and its quite clear that it has something to do with one of the screens failing in its configuration which would explain why no background is displayed on the Monitor gnome thinks is secondary. It would seem to indicate resolution configuration problems. I'm going to tweak the first monitors settings and will post if it is successful.
    Last edited by Hyperthinker; 28th October 2011 at 03:19 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Switching Between Laptop and Monitor Displays
    By gavinjb in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th July 2011, 06:10 PM
  2. Secondary monitor to Photo Frame
    By tommy1987 in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th April 2010, 01:08 PM
  3. F11: vlc won't start on secondary monitor
    By rweed in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2009, 08:08 AM
  4. Full Screen Video on Secondary Monitor
    By pegasus_329 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th September 2008, 03:10 AM
  5. Secondary clone monitor (FC5 w/ATI Radeon)
    By enriko in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd August 2006, 10:25 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]